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State Health Care Resources Fund: Revenue Breakdown 
Updated February 5, 2014 - JFO 

Name Statute Description Revenue 
(State Fiscal Year) 

Notes 
 

***All Years are State Fiscal Years*** 

Tobacco Taxes  

Cigarette Tax 
(and Floor Stock Tax) 

32 V.S.A §7771. Rate 
of Tax  

 Includes cigarettes, little cigars, and roll-your-own 
tobacco.  

      Tax based on weight, not per pack rate.  

 2003: Tax surpasses the $1 mark for first time at              
$1.19/pack.  

 2006: Little cigars and roll-your-own tobacco taxed as 
cigarettes instead of tobacco products.   

 2008: 11% increase from $1.79 to $1.99/ pack.  

 2009: 13% increase from $1.99 to $2.24/pack. 

 2011: 17% increase from $2.24 to $2.62/pack.   

 
2014 Est.: 
$65,700,000 
 
2013:  
$67,338,387 
 
2012:  
$73,361,311 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
*2012 actual includes 
floor stock tax of 
$550,272. 

Tobacco Products Taxes 32 V.S.A §7811. 
Imposition of tobacco 
products tax 

 Includes cigars, pipe tobacco, snuff & smokeless 
tobacco.  

 2006: Snuff tax changed from 41% of wholesale to 
$1.49/ounce. 

 2008: 13% increase on snuff tax from $1.49 to 
$1.69/ounce. 

 2009:  Smokeless tobacco added to snuff tax, 18% 
increase from $1.69 to $1.99/ounce.   

 2009: All tobacco products tax rate increased from 41% 
to 92% of wholesale price.   

 2011: 101% Cigar tax increase from $1.08 to $2.17.  

 
2014 Est.: 
$6,900,000 
 
2013:  
$6,931,690 
 
2012 Actual:  
$6,868,728 
 

 

Employer/Claims Assessment 

Health Care Fund  
Contribution Assessment 
(a.k.a. “Employer 
Assessment”)  

21 V.S.A § 2003  Current quarterly health care fund contribution of 
$119.12/quarter or $476.48 annually paid by employers 
for every “uncovered” FTE in excess of four.  Definition 
of “uncovered” can be found on the Vermont 
Department of Labor website. 

 Adjusts by a percentage equal to any percentage 
change in premiums for the second lowest cost silver 
plan in the Vermont Health Benefits Exchange. 

 
2014 Est.: 
$12,700,000 
 
2013: $11,886,600 
 
2012: $11,168,000 
 

Link to the Vermont 
Department of Labor 
Employer Assessment 
page: 
 
http://labor.vermont.go
v/Default.aspx?tabid=1
164  

http://labor.vermont.gov/Default.aspx?tabid=1164
http://labor.vermont.gov/Default.aspx?tabid=1164
http://labor.vermont.gov/Default.aspx?tabid=1164
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Health Care Claims Tax 
(Includes Dental Claims) 

32 V.S.A § 10402  
Health Care Claims 
Tax 

 There is a 0.999% tax on all health insurance claims 
paid by health insurers for its Vermont members for the 
previous fiscal year ending June 30, of which 0.8% of 
claims are deposited into the State Health Care 
Resources Fund. 

 Act 45 of 2011 (Misc. Tax Bill) moved collection of the 
tax from DVHA to the Department of Taxes. 

 Claims tax also imposed on dental claims. 

 
2014 Est.: 
$13,600,000 
 
2013: $12,470,283 
 
2012: $12,603,108 
 

 
There is a proposal in 
the Governor’s 
recommended SFY’15 
budget to increase the 
claims assessment by 
another 0.8%. 

Provider Taxes 

Notes:  

 All provider taxes must be broad based (imposed equally throughout each individual class), uniformly imposed (each provider taxed the same), and comply with 
the “hold harmless” provision (tax paid is not returned to provider ensuring they are made whole for amounts paid). 

 Vermont imposes provider taxes on 6 of the 19 specified classes of health care providers or services allowed by federally regulations. 

Hospital Provider Tax 33 V.S.A. §1953. 
Hospital Assessment 

 Current tax rate is 6%, up from 5.9% in 2012.  

 Tax rates have ranged between 3.6% and 6% over the 
last 10 years, holding at 5.5% from 2007 to 2011. 

 Psychiatric Hospitals such as the Brattleboro Retreat 
are assessed at a rate of 4.21%, representing approx. 
$900K (2014 estimate).  

2014 Est.: 
$122,576,799 
 
2013: $115,505,466 
 
2012: $110,642,636 

  

Nursing Home Provider 
Tax 

33 V.S.A. §1954. 
Nursing Home 
Assessment  

 Tax assessed on a per bed basis, which cannot exceed 
the corresponding rate.   

 Current tax rate is 6% of net patient revenues, or 
$4,919.53 per bed, which has not changed since 2012.   

 From 2009 – 2011, per bed rate was $4,509.57, or 5.5% 
of net patient revenues. 

2014 Est.: 
$15,822,028 
 
2013: $16,268,103 
 
2012: $15,749,272 

Annual assessment on 
licensed beds is prorated 
for the number of days 
the bed was actually 
licensed with 
overpayments being 
refunded to the facility. 

ICF/MR (Intermediate 
Care Facilities for 
individuals with Mental 
Retardation) Provider Tax 

33 V.S.A §1955.  
ICF/MR assessment 

 Tax assessed as a percentage of total direct and 
indirect expenses based on most recent audit of facility.  

 Current tax rate is 5.9%, which has not changed since 
2012.  

 From 2009 – 2011, tax rate was 5.5% of total direct and 
indirect expenses.  

2014 Est.: 
$71,629 
 
2013: $69,695 
 
2012: $82,098 

 

Home Health Agency 
Provider Tax  

33 V.S.A. §1955a.  
Home health agency 
assessment 

 Tax assessed as a percentage of net operating revenue 
from core services.  

 Current tax rate is 3.9% of net patient revenues, which 
equals 19.3% of net operating revenues.  

 Steady increase since assessment was added in 1999 
at a rate of 7.34%; from 2009-2011 tax rate was 3.8% of 

2014 Est.: 
$4,142,372 
 
2013: $4,529,917 
 
2012: $4,548,206 
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net patient revenues, or 17.69% of net operating 
revenue from core services.  

 

Pharmacy Prescription 
Tax  

33 V.S.A § 1955b. 
Pharmacy 
Assessment 

 $0.10 monthly assessment on pharmacies for every 
prescription filled and refilled.  

 Added in 2005, no increase in rate since that time.   

2014 Est.: 
$800,000 
 
2013: $795,192 
 
2012: $789,877 

 

Beneficiary Premiums 

Catamount Health 
Assistance Program 
Beneficiary Premium 
(CHAP)  -State Share 

33 V.S.A § 1984. 
Individual 
Contributions 

 Coverage for uninsured adults without access to 
approved Employee Sponsored Insurance. 

 Coverage up to 300% of FPL.  

 Beneficiary share ranges from $60-$267/person/month 
paid to state.  

2014 Est.: 
$2,975,315 
 
2013: $4,984,683 
 
2012: $4,597,687 

 
The Catamount Health 
program will cease in 
2014. 

Vermont Health Access 
Plan (VHAP) Beneficiary 
Premium  

  Coverage for uninsured adults up to 150% FPL without 
children, 185% FPL with children. 

 Coverage similar to Medicaid excluding dental and 
transportation. 

 Depending on FPL, monthly premiums range from 
nothing to $49/person/month.  

 ER visit = $25, Outpatient hospital visit = $3, drugs >$50 
= $3.  

2014 Est.: 
$2,163,440 
 
2013: $2,951,004 
 
2012: $2,858,383 
 
 

 
VHAP was repealed at 
the end of CY 2013. 

Dr. Dynasaur   
Beneficiary Premium 
(Includes CHIP)  

  Coverage for pregnant women and children up to age 
18. 

 Depending on FPL, monthly premiums range from $0 to 
$20/family/month.  

 SCHIP is $60/family/month. 

 No prescription co-pays. 

2014 Est.: 
$644,301 
 
2013: $720,593 
 
2012: $687,502 

 

Pharmacy Beneficiary 
Premiums (VPharm 1, 2, 
& 3, VHAP Rx, Vscript, 
Vscript Expanded.)  

  VHAP Rx, VScript, VScript Expanded: coverage for 
aged or disabled, not eligible for Medicare, have no 
pharmacy coverage.  

 VPharm 1,2,3: “wrap” coverage for Medicare Part D. 

 Premiums range from $15 PMPM to $50 PMPM. 

 $1/$2 prescription copays.  

2014 Est.: 
$3,050,651 
 
2013: $3,180,120 
 
2012: $3,160,264 

 
PMPM = Per member 
per month cost 

 

 


